February 25, 2008

Volume 104, Issue 44

Stories from the February 25, 2008 issue of the GW Hatchet. View a PDF version of this issue.

Clinton takes swipes at Obama in SMPA

Posted Monday, Feb. 25, 2:11 p.m., Updated 2:56 p.m. Presidential candidate Sen. Hillary Clinton (D-N.Y.) laid out her foreign policy vision in Jack Morton Auditorium today, stressing her experience in international issues and declaring she would not hesitate to deploy “both the olive branch and the arrows.” Gen. Wesley Clark (Retired) and former Secretary of […]

GW Brief: Ambassador of Afghanistan

Terror attacks, regional instability and a lack of government funding are the main challenges standing in the way of stability in Afghanistan, said Said Tayeb Jawad, the ambassador of Afghanistan to the U.S., when he spoke at the GW Hospital last week. Jawad discussed Afghanistan’s strategy to combat the Taliban and other terrorist organizations while […]

University to accept fewer AP and IB credits

The University is cracking down on the number of introductory courses students can skip with Advanced Placement test scores. More high school students are taking AP exams, and scores on the exams have increased this year, according to statistics from the College Board. In response, the University’s Council of Deans decided to accept 24 AP […]

Clinton fundraiser features guests, surprises

Correction appended Monday, Feb. 25, 9:46 p.m., Updated 10:26 p.m. GW students and supporters of Sen. Hillary Clinton raised more than $200,000 for the New York Democrat’s presidential campaign during a fundraising event at Lisner Auditorium on Monday night that will appear on the Ellen DeGeneres Show. Clinton surprised the audience in the middle of […]

Campus Calendar

Monday Real Conversations: Men Revealed A discussion to help everyone learn about the mind, body and soul of men and to develop a healthy dialogue between men and women. 7 to 9 p.m. Marvin Center 302 Sponsored by Student Activities Center Tuesday Spring Career Fair Get more information on post-graduate, full-time, part-time, co-op and intern […]

Safety committee set to make changes

A new committee responsible for raising awareness of safety and mental health issues is in the final steps of implementing changes suggested by University President Steven Knapp. These changes, which will add security cameras to University property, is in response to the shootings at Virginia Tech last year. Other measures will include making fire alarms […]

Snapshot: Old Spice

Ben Solomon/senior staff photographer The Spice Girls perform before a sold out audience at the Verizon Center Thursday. The girl pop group formed in London in 1994 and includes, from left to right, Victoria Beckham, Melanie Brown, Melanie Chisholm, Emma Bunton and Geri Halliwell.

GW offers global communications degree

A new global communications masters program the University will offer for the first time next fall is likely to generate more than $2 million over the next five years, according to a report presented to the Board of Trustees. The report states that developers designed the masters program after recognizing that communications are essential to […]

Tarek Al-Hariri: Not part of the SA now

Footage from Al-Hariri’s meeting with the Hatchet Editorial Board Name: Tarek Al-Hariri Year: Sophomore Hometown: Washington, D.C. Clubs/Activities: Peace Forum founder, Asian Student Alliance, Muslim Student Association, Multicultural Student Services Center, and father’s architectural and design firm since 2003. Top three platform goals: Bring more money to the SA from outside sponsors and donors so […]

Mac users unable to use iHousing

The University’s online housing application system will pose problems for Apple computer users, a group that accounts for about one-third of GW’s student population. When GW Housing Programs switched from the lottery system to the new iHousing system last year, it did so as a reflection of student desire for an easier, more accessible housing […]