Men’s basketball 2016-17 schedule released

Sophomore forward Yuta Watanabe celebrates a 3-point basket in GW's win against Saint Louis last season. Watanabe and the rest of the Colonials will go up against Saint Louis again this season Jan. 28.
Sophomore forward Yuta Watanabe celebrates a 3-point basket in GW’s win against Saint Louis last season. Watanabe and the rest of the Colonials will go up against Saint Louis again this season Jan. 28. Hatchet file photo
In 65 days men’s basketball will tip-off to officially start its 2016-17 season.

On Tuesday afternoon the team announced their full schedule, which includes at least 17 nationally televised games, 13 of which are Atlantic 10 matchups.

After the season opener against Maryland Eastern-Shore, GW will host its first two CBE Classic games before heading to Kansas City.

In their first game outside D.C., the Colonials will face a strong Georgia team that fought its way through Southeastern Conference play before losing to eventual No. 4 seed Kentucky in their conference semi-finals.

In either the CBE Classic finals or the third place game, GW will take on Kansas or UAB before returning home. A contest against Kansas would provide possibly the toughest challenge of the season for the Colonials against a Jayhawks team that received the No. 1 overall seed in the 2016 NCAA Tournament.

Games in Foggy Bottom that begin a home-and-home agreement with Penn State and end one with South Florida will not likely provide an RPI boost but instead be important practice before the Dec. 4 tip-off against Florida State.

The Colonials first true road game of the season will be against Temple on Dec. 7. Going up against the Owls will be a game to watch after Temple went 14-4 in the American Athletic Conference and reached the NCAA tournament.

GW will then conclude its out-of-conference play Dec. 22 in Miami. The Hurricanes graduated a couple top players but are still expected to come out on top against the Colonials after reaching the sweet 16 last season.

A-10 games on the road against Saint Joseph’s — last year’s conference champion — and at home against Davidson might give an early preview of the Colonials postseason hopes while hosting late-season battles against St. Bonaventure and Dayton give GW fans games to circle on their calendars.

Of the five conference teams that the Colonials play twice in the season, the VCU series may be the most impactful. After splitting their games 1-1 last season, a sweep for either side could form an easier road to a top position in the A-10 tournament.

Here’s the rest of the schedule so you can plan to tune in or head to the Smith Center.

Full Schedule:

Friday, Nov. 11 vs. Maryland Eastern-Shore (Home Opener)

Tuesday, Nov. 15 vs. Siena (CBE Classic)

Thursday, Nov. 17 vs. Arkansas Pine Bluff (CBE Classic)

Monday, Nov. 21 vs. Georgia CBE Classic in Kansas City, Mo. (ESPNU)

Tuesday, Nov. 22 vs. Kansas/UAB CBE Classic in Kansas City, Mo. (ESPN3/ESPN2)

Saturday, Nov. 26 vs. Penn State

Saturday, Dec. 3 vs. USF

Sunday, Dec. 4 vs. Florida State BB&T Classic at Verizon Center (CBSSN)

Wednesday, Dec. 7 at Temple

Saturday, Dec. 10 vs. Howard

Thursday, Dec. 15 vs. UCF

Thursday, Dec. 22 at Miami

Friday, Dec. 30 at Saint Joseph’s (Start of A-10 Play)

Thursday, Jan. 5 vs. Davidson (ESPNU)

Sunday, Jan. 8 vs. Richmond (NBCSN)

Wednesday, Jan. 11 at VCU (ESPN2)

Sunday, Jan. 15 at La Salle (NBCSN)

Wednesday, Jan. 18 vs. Duquesne

Wednesday, Jan. 25 at George Mason (ASN)

Saturday, Jan. 28 vs. Saint Louis (ASN)

Tuesday, Jan. 31 at Rhode Island (CBSSN)

Saturday, Feb. 4 at Richmond (NBCSN)

Wednesday, Feb. 8 vs. VCU (CBSSN)

Saturday, Feb. 11 vs. St. Bonaventure (NBCSN)

Wednesday, Feb. 15 at Davidson (ASN)

Sunday, Feb. 19 at Duqeusne (NBCSN)

Thursday, Feb. 23 vs. Massachusetts (ASN)

Sunday, Feb. 26 vs. George Mason

Wednesday, March 1 at Fordham

Saturday, March 4 vs. Dayton (NBCSN)

The Hatchet has disabled comments on our website. Learn more.