What’s on our iPod: Avenged Sevenfold

Avenged Sevenfold’s “nu-metal” sound brings together harmonic guitar riffs with vocals that scream with emotion. Key tracks include “Almost Easy,” “Dear God,” “Afterlife” and “A Little Piece of Heaven.”

The vocals offered from singer M. Shadows don’t really compare to what was done in their first album, “Waking the Fallen,” prior to Shadows tearing his vocal cords. The only thing that does this album any justice are the riffs from guitarists Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance.

The Hatchet has disabled comments on our website. Learn more.