SA Notes

Senate-elect passes fice nominees

The Student Association Senate-elect met for its final official meeting of the year Wednesday night in the Marvin Center to confirm five nominees for SA President-elect Lamar Thorpe’s cabinet.

Junior Stephanie Adelman, freshman Andrew Cooper, freshman Richard Fowler, junior Charlie Leizear and sophomore Derek Platt were confirmed to be the vice president of financial affairs, vice president of public affairs, vice president of student activities, co-chair of the Joint Committee of Faculty and Students and vice president of community affairs, respectively.

Last week the SA Rules Committee, which must pass all vice presidential nominees on to the full body, did not confirm three of Thorpe’s nominees including sophomore Peter Fu, freshman Hayley Haldeman and junior Nick D’Addario. Thorpe, a junior, said Wednesday night that he will appoint the failed nominees as acting vice presidents for the summer and will bring them forth for reconsideration by the Rules Committee in the fall. Chair of the rules committee, sophomore Chris Rotella (CCAS-U), said the three nominees failed because they were not qualified.

On Friday, the new SA president, executive vice president and senators will be sworn in and assume their official positions.

The Hatchet has disabled comments on our website. Learn more.