SA Notes

SA confirms election committee members; sets election date

The finalized Joint Elections Committee, which was confirmed Tuesday night in the Marvin Center, set the date for the Student Association presidential election to be March 29 and 30.

The elections will give students an opportunity to elect a new SA president, a new SA Senate, representatives to the Marvin Center Governing Board and the Program Board leadership.

The SA appointees to the JEC are freshman Alex Stegmaier, sophomore Ryan Sullivan and junior Liz Fox. The SA appointees will join MCGB appointee senior Timothy Ziese and PB appointee senior Katie Santo as members of the election oversight body.

On Tuesday night, the JEC members internally elected Fox as the chair of the committee.

Also during Tuesday’s SA Senate meeting, SA President Audai Shakour announced that SA Sen. Andrew Salzman (GSEHD) will be his nominee for the fifth and final vacancy on the Student Court.

The nomination brought strong dissent among several SA senators who called for a Law School student to fill the vacancy. Salzman’s nomination will be referred to committee and could be voted on as early as next week by the full Senate.

-Andrew Ramonas

The Hatchet has disabled comments on our website. Learn more.