Hart loses ANC bid

Posted Wednesday, Nov. 3, 2 p.m.

Incumbent Dorothy Miller defeated GW senior Kris Hart with 72 percent of the vote for a spot on a locally elected board Tuesday.

Miller will remain chair of the Advisory Neighborhood Commission of the Foggy Bottom area in seat 2A-05 despite Hart’s efforts to oust the 12-year incumbent in a write-in campaign.

“I greatly appreciate the support of the community,” Miller said Wednesday morning. “My community matters to me and fortunately what I’ve done matters to them.”

Miller received 175 votes while write-in candidates received 69 votes, or 28 percent, according to the results posted by the D.C. Board of Elections and Ethics Tuesday night.

Statistics show that Hart’s campaign as a write-in candidate had an effect on Miller. Miller’s margin of victory was greater in 2002, when she won 93 percent of the vote. Hart was a write-in candidate because he did not complete his election paperwork on time. D.C. election documents did not differentiate between Hart and other possible write-in candidates.

ANC veterans David Lehrman, Richard Price and Miller retained their seats, while unopposed newcomers Anne Savage, James Morris and Vince Micone gained seats on the board. They replaced Maria Tyler, James Lewis and GW senior Graham Long.

Fifty-four percent of registered D.C. voters cast ballots in the election Tuesday, and more than 400 members of the Foggy Bottom community voted in the local ANC election, a turnout of 100 more voters than in 2002.

The Hatchet has disabled comments on our website. Learn more.