BREAKING NEWS: — Recovered ballot box has no bearing on election results

Posted: Friday, Feb. 27, 4:35 p.m. — The Student Association run-off will go along as planned next week, after a ballot box found Friday morning could have changed election results.

Joint Election Committee members found the box, which contained 66 ballots from the Mount Vernon Campus, after they announced the election’s outcome at 8:35 a.m. JEC members added the extra ballots to the vote totals Friday afternoon.

JEC Chair John Plack announced at about 4 p.m. that the extra ballots would not alter previously announced results.

“It’s a good feeling (that all results are announced),” Plack said.

Presidential candidates Lee Roupas and Omar Woodard, and executive vice presidential candidates Ed Buckley and Anyah Dembling will compete in the run-off Wednesday and Thursday.

Students can vote from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. in the Marvin Center ground floor computer lab, the Mount Vernon Campus Pub, the Law School and Funger, Monroe, Ross and Thurston halls.

The candidates with a majority of votes will become the new SA president and executive vice president. Results will be announced some time after polls close Thursday night.

Woodard received 1,106 votes, Roupas received 687 and presidential candidate Isaiah Pickens received 675 votes, according to a copy of election results. Roupas beat Pickens by a slim majority of 12 votes.

Roupas and Woodard both said they would be campaigning next week and spreading their platform ideas to students.

At about 1:30 p.m. Friday, Pickens said he was nervous, but his staffers campaigned heavily on Mount Vernon. Pickens was not present when the JEC announced the final tallies.

“I’m not going to let my ideas just die because I lose a race,” Pickens said prior to the announcement.

Dembling received about 35 percent of the EVP votes, Buckley about 31 percent, candidate Asher Corson 23 percent and candidate Anthony Moniello 11 percent.

Presidential and executive vice presidential candidates needed 40 percent of votes to win outright, which no candidates received.

The JEC also announced the undergraduate Columbian College of Arts and Sciences senators Friday afternoon, which they could not do in the morning because of study abroad student votes.

Students Hilary Golston, Morgan Corr, Tim Saccoccio, Ben Traverse and John Van Name will serve as CCAS senators. Josh Lasky and Craig Newman each got 408 votes. The SA Senate will decide which of the two senators will hold office.

The Hatchet has disabled comments on our website. Learn more.