Black History Celebration Calendar

Tuesday Feb. 5, 3 p.m.: Showcasing Africana: Selections from the Gelman Library, Special Collections Department exhibit unveiling and book discussion with author Brenna Clarke.
Gelman 207, Cost: Free.

Tuesday Feb. 5, 7:30 p.m.: “Honorary Members Induction Ceremony: Honoring Those That Bring Honor to Us.” Honoring Washington Post columnist Michelle Singletary among others from the GW community. Sponsor: The Black Student Union.
Marvin Center; Betts Theater, Cost: Free

Wednesday Feb. 6, 8 p.m.: Movie: “Remember the Titans” featuring Denzel Washington. Sponsor: The Mount Vernon Programming Council.
Mount Vernon Pub and Grill, Cost: Free

Friday Feb. 8, 9 p.m.: Soul Revue 2002. Sponsor: NAACP.
Marvin Center – Columbian Square, Cost: $5 advance, $7 at door

Monday Feb. 11: Friday, Feb 15: Founder’s Week 2002 A celebration of the 93rd birthday of the largest and oldest civil rights organization in America with dynamic speakers, poetry slams, a birthday concert and information about the history of this great organization. Sponsor: NAACP.
More details soon

Saturday Feb. 16, 12 p.m.: 1001 Black Inventions by Pin Points Theatre. Sponsor: BSU.
Location: TBA. Cost: Free

Saturday Feb. 16, 10 p.m.: Pardi Gras! Party Mardi Gras Style with the BSU Crew! Sponsor: BSU.
Marvin Center Ballroom. Cost: $3 for BSU members, $5 for nonmembers

Tuesday Feb. 19, 8 p.m.: Town Hall Meeting: Come meet the SA 2002-2003 candidates. Sponsor: BSU .
Marvin Center Ballroom. Cost: Free

Wednesday Feb. 20 – Tuesday, March 12: Speak Truth to Power Series: Come speak your mind about topics that are affecting black students and the GW community as a whole. Sponsor: NAACP.
Downtown Lounge – 2129 G St, NW. Cost: Free

Thursday Feb. 21, 8 p.m. – Keynote Address: Rev. Michael Eric Dyson. Book signing and reception will follow address. Sponsor: BSU.
Location: TBA. Cost: Free

Saturday Feb. 23, 7 p.m. – Annual Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc Stepshow: Stepping Into Unity. Sponsor: Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Nu Beta Chapter.
GW Lisner Auditorium. Cost: $10 in advance, $12 at the door

Sunday Feb 24 – Saturday March 2 – Zeta Phi Sorority, Inc. presents Finer Womanhood Week. More details to come.

Tuesday Feb. 26, 7 p.m. – Pre- and post-9/11 profiling: The Real Enemy. Sponsor: BSU.
Marvin Center Ballroom. Cost: Free

Wednesday Feb. 27, 7:30 p.m. – Movie “Life and Debt” and discussion. Sponsors: The Progressive Student Union, BSU, The Caribbean Student Association, Team II.
Marvin Center Amphitheatre. Cost: Free

Thursday Feb. 28, 8 p.m. and 10:30 p.m. – Movie: “Bamboozled.” Sponsors: Program Board, BSU, Student Advantage.
Marvin Center Ballroom. Cost: Free

Friday March 1, 8 p.m. – Come spend a soulful evening with the men of Naturally Seven, hailed by critics as ‘deep, intense, and brilliant.” Reception after performance. Sponsors: Mount Vernon Programming Council, Multicultural Student Services Center.
Mount Vernon Hand Chapel. Cost: Free.

Wednesday March 6, 8 p.m. – BSU Annual Soul Food Dinner. Sponsor: BSU. Entertainment TBA.
Marvin Center Ballroom . Cost: $10.

Thursday March 7, 7 p.m. – Flavors of the World.
Sponsor: Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.
Hillel. Cost: Free

Saturday March 9 – Unity Ball 2002 with DJ Sixth Sense of WKYS. Open to the entire GW community. Sponsors: BSU, Program Board.
Location and Cost TBA

The Hatchet has disabled comments on our website. Learn more.