IFC elects new officers

The Interfraternity Council selected Theta Delta Chi member Jared David as its president when it elected new executive board officers Dec. 5. Newly elected officers will assume their positions next semester.

The presidents of each recognized fraternity on campus that have voting rights were present to cast their votes, or designated someone to vote for them.

David received the majority of votes for president.

I haven’t been the president of my fraternity; I haven’t been the president of any organization on campus, but I have taken a strong leadership role within my fraternity, he said in his speech.

David served as corresponding secretary, IFC representative and housing chair of Theta Delta Chi.

I’m looking forward to the opportunity, he said after the vote. I think I can do a good job for the IFC and the Greek community.

Sigma Phi Epsilon, a colony fraternity – a chapter that has not received its charter – could not vote. Sigma Nu and Phi Sigma Kappa were absent, and Alpha Epsilon Pi is under suspension by its national chapter and could not participate in the elections, IFC president Jay Levin said.

Each candidate for president was given three minutes to talk about his qualifications and goals and answered questions about his IFC experience and dedication. The executive board, fraternity presidents and other members then deliberated over the list of candidates.

Candidates for other IFC positions were given one minute to speak.

David Schaffer, vice president of Phi Kappa Psi, was elected executive vice president, whose primary job is to manage IFC accounts.

Financially, (Phi Kappa Psi is) at the highest point we’ve been in our existence, he said to the fraternity presidents and representatives. His accounting job at GW’s Property Management office will also help him carry out the job of keeping the books for the IFC, Schaffer said.

Jeremy Loew of Phi Kappa Psi was elected vice president of Judicial Affairs. He will be responsible for organizing judicial hearings and bringing charges against fraternities under the new IFC self-governance system.

I think sometimes judicial affairs and the IFC butt heads, he said. It’s important that we work with them so they understand the self-governance policy is in the best interest of the University and the community at large.

The new vice president of Risk Management, who educates fraternities about rules and how to avoid breaking them, is Delta Tau Delta member Anthony Morris.

By a motion of acclamation – because they ran unopposed – Scott Taub of Beta Theta Pi was named vice president of communications, Eric Waldman of Kappa Sigma became vice president of programming and Brian Finnegan of Tau Kappa Epsilon was named the vice president of recruitment.

The Hatchet has disabled comments on our website. Learn more.